Grungy thoughts on a Thursday evening 

Do you remember where you were when you found out that Kurt Cobain died? I do. I had just come home from school. It was my 19th birthday. As a shy, quiet girl who loved grunge (and still does), I’ll never forget the utter speechlessness I felt. Sadness. Thinking what a waste it was for such talent to be wasted away. Kurt was wrong. Living life and fading out gracefully is so much better than burning out.

Context where these thoughts came from: My hubby is out on a date tonight, the kids are doing their own thing, so I decided to watch the documentary Kurt Cobain: Montage of Heck.

6 thoughts on “Grungy thoughts on a Thursday evening 

  1. I was in Scotland with my grandmother, staying at my great aunt & uncle’s house. I remember being so upset, and none of them really “got it”. Nirvana, Pearl Jam, Soundgarden…so much of their music articulated things I had never been able to say before. I was heartbroken and I felt that part of me was silenced again. I understand that is a totally melodramatic teenaged way of looking at things, but it was how I felt at that moment.

  2. masterandbabydoll says:

    I remember sitting on the floor in my parents room watching the news of his death, really sad and feeling especially sorry for his wife and daughter, being left behind like that. I like their music, some of it speaks to me and some doesn’t but I kept thinking how sad this talented soul felt like he could no longer exist in this world. A world that needed his voice and his words.

Leave a Reply

